Safer Births programme partners

We work with a number of organisations to help to deliver the Safer Births programme.

Our partners

The Royal College of Midwives

The Royal College of Midwives (RCM) aims to promote and advance the profession of the midwife. The RCM represents the vast majority of the UK's midwives and is one of the world's oldest and largest midwifery organisations, and celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2006. It is also a trade union.

The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) is dedicated to the study and the advancement of standards in women's reproductive healthcare. It does so through publishing working party reports, scientific opinions and clinical guidelines and works closely with other professional organisations and healthcare agencies. It is also involved in postgraduate medical training and the continuous professional development of consultants.

The Centre for Maternal and Child Enquiries

The Centre for Maternal and Child Enquiries (CMACE) is an independent charity. Its mission is to improve the health of mothers, babies and children by carrying out confidential enquiries and other related work on a UK wide basis and widely disseminating the results.

NHS Litigation Authority

The NHS Litigation Authority (NHSLA) is a Special Health Authority responsible for handling negligence claims made against NHS organisations in England. In addition to dealing with claims, the NHSLA has an active risk management programme to help raise standards of care in the NHS. The Clinical Negligence Scheme for Trusts (CNST) is a risk pooling scheme administered by the NHSLA which handles all clinical negligence claims made against NHS organisations where the incident took place on or after 1 April 1995. Maternity claims account for around 50% of the value of all CNST claims. The costs of CNST are met by contributions from NHS organisations. The CNST maternity standards apply to NHS organisations providing labour ward services and are used by the NHSLA to assess the management of risks. NHS organisations achieving the standards receive a discount from the maternity element of their CNST contribution.

National Patient Safety Agency

The National Patient Safety Agency is an Arm's Length Body of the Department of Health. It encompasses three divisions; the National Research Ethics Service, the National Reporting and Learning Service and the National Clinical Assessment Service. The NPSA's vision is to lead and contribute to improved, safe patient care by informing, supporting and influencing healthcare individuals and organisations.