General Advisory Council

This content relates to the following topics:

Under the terms of the Fund's new Royal Charter, the Fund has established a General Advisory Council, chaired by the President.


The purpose of the General Advisory Council is to provide advice to the Chief Executive and Trustees to help the Fund achieve its mission. Members of the Council will use their collective expertise to reflect on the Fund's activities and impact in the previous year; act as a source of intelligence on the key issues and challenges in the health system and to engage in future thinking about trends and developments in policy, leadership and health care improvement.

General Advisory Council members

Members of the Council should be appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Chief Executive.

The following people were appointed to the General Advisory Council by our President HRH The Prince of Wales:

  • Dr Kamran Abbasi, Executive Editor, The BMJ
  • Lord Victor Adebowale CBE, Chair, NHS Confederation
  • Samantha Allen, Chief Executive, North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care System
  • Professor Kate Ardern, Director of Public Health, Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Samira Ben Omar, Head of Engagement and Partnerships, North West London Collaboration of CCGs
  • Kay Boycott, NED, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Stephen Chandler, Corporate Director for Adult Services, Oxfordshire County Council
  • Professor Yvonne Doyle CB, FMedSci, England Medical Director for Public Health, NHSE&I
  • Dr Navina Evans, Chief Executive, Health Education England
  • Hannah Farrar, Chief Executive, Carnall Farrar
  • Ceinwen Giles, Director, Shine Cancer Support
  • Jatinder Harchowal MBE FRPharmS, Chief Pharmacist, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Nick Harding OBE, Chief Medical Officer, Operose Health
  • Angela Helleur, Chief Nursing Officer, South East London Integrated Care Board
  • John James OBE, Chief Executive, Sickle Cell Society
  • Dr Nikita Kanani MBE, Medical Director for Primary Care, NHS England and NHS Improvement
  • Fatima Khan-Shah, Associate Director, Long Term Conditions and Personalisation, Convenor of the Race Equality Network, West Yorkshire Health and Care Partnership
  • Professor Nicholas Mays, Professor of Health Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Jonathan McShane, Chair, Terrence Higgins Trust
  • Ben Page, Global Chief Executive, Ipsos MORI
  • Sarah Pickup OBE, Deputy Chief Executive, Local Government Association
  • Martin Reeves, Chief Executive, Coventry City Council
  • Hardev Virdee, Group Chief Financial Officer, Barts Health NHS Trust