Regulators' response to Francis

The King's Fund
Event type: 
Board Leadership Programme

About this event

This will be the second event in this programme to look at system responses to Robert Francis’ recommendations. The need for strong system leadership for professionals and for better coordination between regulators was highlighted by the Francis Inquiry. The Care Quality Commission will be discussing changes to their regulatory framework. The Professional Standards Authority, which oversees the 9 professional regulators that set standards for professionals, will discuss the findings from their perspective.

David Behan CBE, Chief Executive, Care Quality Commission and Harry Cayton OBE, Chief Executive of the Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care will both speak during the session.

Each speaker will present and then there will be a chaired debate with the audience. Participants are invited to send any questions in advance. 


David Behan CBE

David Behan CBE began his post as Chief Executive at the Care Quality Commission in July 2012.

He was previously the Director General of Social Care, Local Government and Care Partnerships at the Department of Health, the President of the Association of Directors of Social Services, and the first Chief Inspector of the Commission for Social Care Inspection.

Between 1996 to 2003, he was Director of Social Services at London Borough of Greenwich and a member of the Greenwich Primary Care Trust Board and the Professional Executive Committee. 

David was awarded a CBE in 2003, and in 2004 was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Law by Greenwich University.

Harry Clayton OBE

Harry Cayton OBE is Chief Executive of the Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care, the statutory body that oversees the regulation and registration of health and care professions in the UK. From 2001 to 2007 he was national director for patients and the public at the Department of Health following 20 years in the voluntary sector, latterly as chief executive of the Alzheimer’s Society. He is a member of the World Economic Forum Council on Digital Health, chair of the Commission on Human Medicines, Patient and Public Involvement Advisory Group, a trustee of Comic Relief, and adviser to several charities.